About us

Our values are based on a simple idea: putting tenants at the heart of our story...

What has shaped our story

At Colonies, we believe that a home should be more than just walls.
To feel "at home". A place, a feeling that allows us to move forward, to dream and to bring our projects to life. It is a safe and sound refuge. Often a peaceful bubble, it is above all here that we can drop the mask and be ourselves.
A house is simply moments of happiness: a Saturday morning with nothing more on you than socks and a smile, several sleepless nights, great sleepovers, the smell of coffee coming from the kitchen, an autumn Sunday spent on the couch or endless late night discussions. It is an open door to family and friends who drop by unexpectedly. In short, it is where the most beautiful memories remain and where the best days start...

Why the name Colonies?

It's the same for animals, insects, and soon for humans on Mars... and in our homes! At Colonies, the main goal is to imagine spacious living spaces where each tenant has his place and contributes in his own way to improve the experience of living together: To make every day count.

What motivates us in the morning

Creating homes is our passion. Helping people find theirs easily is why we get up in the morning. Building projects that fit their lives is what we want and do every day.

Whether it's a mansion or an apartment, we want to create homes where you feel comfortable, confident and ready to conquer the world. How do we do this? By creating attractive, well-equipped, tastefully decorated living spaces that reduce all the friction points of a typical coliving arrangement. Our approach to coliving is based on 3 pillars: private bubbles that guarantee privacy, generous common areas that offer ambitious amenities and a vibrant community, selected to live well together.

The Team behind the magic

Behind the name and concept of Colonies are men and women of different cultures, nationalities and backgrounds. Colonies is a varied expertise but a common ambition. Here, everything is internalized from A to Z to guarantee the best possible living experience.
Finding the perfect match
Our real estate development teams look for the most promising investors and properties that will become the Colonies homes of tomorrow. With a keen eye, they know how to detect the potential of a building, the charm of wood and stone as well as the possible developments of a plot of land. No nugget can resist them!
Photos of the founders of Colonies Alexandre Martin Amaury Courbon and François Roth
All beautiful, all Colonies
Our architects, interior designers and construction project managers are responsible for the use of the homes. They are the ones who will create for you the warm universe, the friendly atmosphere so familiar to Colonies homes as well as the perfect balance between private bubbles and shared spaces with strong added values. Every day, they are full of ideas and ingenuity to offer you the most beautiful rooftop, the best cinema room, the perfectly fitted gym in the basement or the jacuzzi hidden in the corner of the garden.
Just like at home
What would Colonies be without our experience team whose modjo is our core mission: to allow you to live your life to the fullest without worrying about the small stuff! It is composed of our sales managers, in other words the "community builders", those who will listen to you and help you find THE group that matches your personality with surely friendships and even who knows love at the end... And finally, our famous Residence Managers will accompany you daily from the day you arrive to answer your questions and requests. A life partner of sorts who will guide you towards the best way to live (and enjoy) shared accommodation!
Join the adventure

Note from the team

Our Brand embodies that initial spark and all the energy our team is deploying every day to make it happen. It gathers who we are, why we wake up in the morning, and how people should feel about us. Whether they are a tenant living in one of our homes, a partenaire, or a supplier.
“Home” is both deeply intimate and truly universal. Reinventing this complex experience by working on Colonies is the most complete and thrilling challenge we ever take. We hope it will make you as passionate and proud as we are.

We have good press

Left arrow
Right arrow
9/5/2021

Podcast "The Combination" - Coliving with Colonies, the cool 2.0 coloc

It's nice to live with a roommate, but from time to time you want to be alone at home. This is exactly what Colonies, Alexandre Martin's startup, offers. Having a place of your own (...)

listen to the podcast
5/5/2021

Bordeaux: a "coliving" residence opens next to the public garden

The start-up Colonies is inaugurating its first coliving residence in Bordeaux. It is located a few steps from the public garden (...)

Read the article
30/4/2021

Coliving: the rise of the "all inclusive" colocation

In recent years, in response to the need for flexibility among young workers, several start-ups have focused on coliving, a lifestyle halfway between a shared apartment and a (...)

Read the article
28/4/2021

Colonies opens the doors of its first coliving residence in Bordeaux

The coliving operator Colonies has announced the opening of its first house in Bordeaux, named Rosa in homage to Rosa Bonheur, a 19th century painter born in (...)

Read the article
20/4/2021

Start-ups resist the crisis

They have adapted, changed their offer by relying on their responsiveness and the flexibility of their model. Some start-ups have even seen their services hit the bull's eye during the crisis (...)

Read the article
4/4/2021

Create your startup with friends... and stay that way

History is full of friendships that have become successful associations, but also of painful rifts that prove that starting a business with a friend, a family member or a (...)

Read the article
31/3/2021

Colony of Colivers

Interview with Amaury Courbon p. 15: "Colonies is a start-up that offers many coliving spaces. After a student coliving with two friends, Amaury Courbon decided to start this adventure. The three friends went to New-York to see what was being done there in terms of (...)"

Read the article
30/3/2021

How does coliving stand up to the crisis?

It's already been more than a year since Covid-19 became part of our daily lives. A year of confinement and repeated curfews that have forced the French to stay at home, sometimes even in coliving spaces (...)

Read the article
29/3/2021

François Roth: "Coliving is ideal for going through a life change"

François Roth, co-founder of Colonies, is the guest of the Talk Décideurs du Figaro.

Watch the video
25/3/2021

#StartupPortrait of Alexandre Martin

Discover the #StartupPortrait of Alexandre Martin, co-founder of the startup Colonies on the blog of journalist Stéphane Bourguignon.

listen to the podcast
15/2/2021

In'li opens two new coliving residences with Colonies

In'li, the subsidiary of the Action Logement group, dedicated to intermediate housing, has just launched a coliving project via a partnership with Colonies (...)

Read the article
6/2/2021

Coliving: the joys of shared living

Do you know coliving? It is a concept where citizens who did not know each other decided to share common spaces. This for financial reasons as well as philosophical ones. Our report. (...)

Watch the video
3/2/2021

Their coliving residences dust off the housing market

Young professionals are somewhat forgotten in the housing market. Not rich enough to find quality housing at affordable prices. Too well off to (...)

Read the article
3/2/2021

From a student colocation project to a $40M fundraiser

GrowthMakers Podcast #140: Alexandre Martin is co-founder of Colonies, a company that creates attractive, well-equipped, tastefully-designed living spaces that reduce all points of friction (...)

Read the article
See our press kit

Investisseurs particuliersInvestisseurs institutionnelsDécisionnaires publiques/développeurs

À propos

Nos valeurs reposent sur une idée simple : mettre le locataire au coeur de notre expérience…

Ce qui a bercé notre histoire

Chez Colonies, nous considérons qu'une maison doit être bien plus que des murs.
Se sentir “à la maison”. Un endroit, une place, un sentiment qui nous permet d’avancer, de rêver et de concrétiser nos projets. C’est un lieu de refuge et de sécurité. Souvent une bulle de tranquillité, c’est avant tout ici que l’on peut tomber le masque et être soi-même.
Une maison c'est tout simplement des moments de bonheur : un samedi matin avec rien de plus sur soi que des chaussettes et un sourire, plusieurs nuits blanches, de bonnes grasses matinées, l’odeur du café qui vient de la cuisine, un dimanche d’automne passé sur le canapé ou encore des discussions à refaire le monde. C’est la porte grande ouverte à la famille et des amis passés à l’improviste. Bref, c'est ici que restent les plus beaux souvenirs et que débutent les meilleures journées…

Pourquoi le nom Colonies ?

C'est ainsi pour les animaux, les insectes, bientôt pour l'homme sur Mars...et dans nos maisons ! Chez Colonies il s'agit principalement d'imaginer des lieux de vie spacieux où chaque locataire a sa place et apporte à sa manière sa pierre à l'edifice pour améliorer l'expérience d'habitation commune : Pour que chaque jour compte.

Ce qui nous motive le matin

Créer des maisons c’est notre passion. Aider les gens à trouver facilement la leur est la raison pour laquelle nous nous levons le matin. Construire des projets qui correspondent à leur vie, c'est ce que nous voulons et faisons tous les jours.

Que ce soit une demeure bourgeoise ou un appartement, nous voulons créer des logements où l'on se sent bien, en confiance et prêt à conquérir le monde. Comment faisons-nous cela? En créant des lieux de vie attractifs, bien équipés, décorés avec goût qui réduisent tous les points de friction d'une colocation habituelle. Notre approche du Coliving réside autour de 3 piliers : des bulles privatives qui garantissent l'intimité, des communs généreux qui proposent des prestations ambitieuses et une communauté vibrante, sélectionnée pour bien vivre ensemble.

L'équipe derrière tout ça

Derrière le nom et le concept de Colonies se cachent des hommes et des femmes à la culture, à la nationalité et aux parcours différents. Colonies, c’est une expertise variée mais une ambition commune. Ici tout est internalisé de A à Z afin de garantir la meilleure expérience d'habitation possible.
Dénicher la perle rare
Nos équipes de développement immobilier s'occupent de rechercher les investisseurs et les biens les plus prometteurs qui feront les maisons Colonies de demain. L'oeil aguerri, ils savent déceler le potentiel d'une bâtisse, le charme du bois et de la pierre ainsi que les aménagements possibles d'un terrain. Aucune pépite ne leur résiste !
Tout beau, tout Colonies
Nos architectes, décorateurs d'intérieurs et chefs de projets construction ont, quant à eux, la responsabilité des usages dans les maisons. Ce sont eux qui vont créer pour vous l'univers chaleureux, l'ambiance conviviale si familière aux maisons Colonies ainsi que l'équilibre parfait entre bulles privatives et espaces partagés à fortes valeurs ajoutées. Chaque jour, ils regorgent d'idées et d'ingéniosité pour vous proposer le plus beau rooftop, la meilleure salle de cinéma, la salle de sport parfaitement aménagée au sous sol ou encore le jacuzzi qui se cache dans le coin du jardin.
Comme à la maison
Que serait Colonies sans notre team expérience dont le modjo est notre cœur de mission : vous permettre de vivre votre vie à fond sans vous préoccuper des petits tracas ! Elle est composée entre autre de nos sales managers, autrement dit les "faiseurs de communauté", ceux qui vont vous écouter et vous permettre de trouver LE groupe qui match avec votre personnalité avec sûrement des amitiés et même qui sait l'amour à la clé... Et enfin nos célèbres Residence Managers, eux, vous accompagneront quotidiennement dés leur jour d'arrivée pour répondre à vos questions et requêtes. Un partenaire de vie en quelque sorte qui vous guidera vers la meilleure manière de vivre (et de profiter) l’habitat partagé !
Rejoindre l’aventure

Le mot de la team

"Notre marque incarne toute l'énergie que notre équipe déploie chaque jour pour améliorer notre modèle. Elle rassemble qui nous sommes, pourquoi nous nous levons chaque matin et ce que nous avons à offrir à un locataire vivant dans l'un de nos logements, à un partenaire ou à un fournisseur.
« Se sentir chez soi » est à la fois profondément intime et vraiment universel. Réinventer ce sentiment complexe en travaillant à construire l'expérience Colonies est le défi le plus complet et le plus passionnant que nous ayons jamais relevé. Nous espérons que cela vous rendra aussi heureux et accomplis que nous le sommes."

On a bonne presse

Flèche gauche
Flèche droite
4/4/2021

Créer sa startup avec des amis… et le rester

L’Histoire est remplie d’amitiés devenues des associations à succès mais également de déchirements douloureux qui prouvent que monter une entreprise avec un ami, un membre de sa famille ou même son conjoint fait porter un risque additionnel, qui pèse sur la pérennité de cette relation (...)

Lire l'article
31/3/2021

Des Colonies de colivers

Interview d'Amaury Courbon p. 15 : "Colonies est une start-up qui propose de nombreux espaces de coliving. Après une colocation étudiante avec deux amis, Amaury Courbon décide de se lancer dans cette aventure. Les trois amis partent à New-York pour voir ce qu’il s’y fait en matière (...)"

Lire l'article
30/3/2021

Comment le coliving résiste face à la crise ?

Déjà plus d’un an que la Covid-19 est ancrée dans notre quotidien. Une année de confinement et de couvre-feu à répétition qui ont obligé les français à rester chez eux, parfois même dans des espaces de coliving (...)

Lire l'article
29/3/2021

François Roth : «Le coliving est idéal pour traverser un changement de vie»

François Roth, co-fondateur de Colonies, est l'invité du Talk Décideurs du Figaro.

VOIR LA VIDéo
25/3/2021

#PortraitDeStartuper d'Alexandre Martin

Découvrez le #PortraitDeStartuper d'Alexandre Martin, co-fondateur de la startup Colonies sur le blog du journaliste Stéphane Bourguignon.

Lire l'article
15/2/2021

In’li ouvre deux nouvelles résidences de coliving avec Colonies

In’li, la filiale du groupe Action Logement, dédiée au logement intermédiaire, vient de se lancer dans le coliving via un partenariat avec Colonies. Ils ont ainsi ouvert deux nouvelles résidences de coliving situées respectivement dans (...)

Lire l'article
6/2/2021

Coliving : les bonheurs de l'habitat partagé

Connaissez-vous le coliving ? C'est un concept où des citoyens qui ne se connaissaient pas ont décidé de partager des espaces communs. Cela pour des raisons financières que philosophiques. Notre reportage. (...)

VOIR LA VIDÉO
3/2/2021

Leurs résidences de coliving dépoussièrent le marché du logement

Les jeunes actifs sont un peu les oubliés du marché de l'immobilier. Pas assez riches pour trouver un logement de qualité à prix abordable. Trop aisés pour bénéficier des APL. Colonies, la start-up créée en 2017 par ces trois camarades (...)

Lire l'article
3/2/2021

D’un projet de colocation étudiante à une levée de 40M

Podcast GrowthMakers #140 : Alexandre Martin est cofondateur de Colonies, une entreprise qui crée des lieux de vie attractifs, bien équipés, désignés avec goût et qui réduisent tous les points de frictions d’une colocation (...)

ÉCOUTER LE PODCAST
26/1/2021

Sur le Grand Boulevard, une coloc' d'un nouveau genre sur 350m²

Coliving. Le mot, qui désigne une colocation d'un nouveau genre destinée ) des actifs avides de vie en communauté et d'un certain confort, commence à faire son chemin. Colonies, société de coliving confondée par un Marcquois (...)

Lire l'article
Voir notre press kit