Login
Colonies logo

Find your home

→ 100% digital booking

→ Fully furnished housing

→ Charges included in the rent

→ Mid & long-term rentals

XXL building

All of our products can be found within XXL buildings offering extra on-site facilities.

Discover our XXL buildings

Corporate offers

Looking to invest?

Log in or create an account to access our investment opportunities

View our opportunities

A platform to simplify our tenants’ stay

→ Arrival & departure instructions
→ Documents related to the stay
→ Rent payment & receipts
→ Housemates information
→ Help center

04/04/2024
All products
France

Rent including charges: what exactly does this mean?

At Colonies, our aim is simple: to make your life easier. So, whether you're looking for accommodation via our site or elsewhere, we like to share tips with you to help you navigate this all-too-frequently complex area of real estate. Today, let's take a look at what the famous "rent charges included" statement means.

This has been mandatory since 2014, when the "ALUR law" came into force. From now on, agencies or lessors who put a property up for rent must specify the monthly rent price. Added to this is an estimate of the sum to which the charges included in the total price of this rent amount.

If you're looking for a rental property, expect to see the words "rent including charges" on a regular basis. In concrete terms, this indicates the full amount you'll have to pay each month. This is as true for shared flats as it is for single-family homes, whether apartments or houses.

But what exactly are these charges? Maintenance, electricity, sanitation charges, private charges, regularization of charges... Don't panic, we'll tell you everything in the following paragraphs.

Furnished rental with service charges and electricity: what service charges are included in my rental?

When you see the words "rent including utilities" in a property advertisement, you're looking at the monthly rent, which includes what are known as "service charges". Every month, you therefore pay your landlord or rental agency an advance on charges.

But what exactly do these charges include? First and foremost, expenses related to the energy consumption of the building in which you live. We're talking here about water, electricity, gas and heating.

Rental charges also include the costs of maintaining the common areas of your building. These costs include repairs to all common equipment such as elevators, mailboxes, and so on.

Last but not least, rental charges include taxes for taking care of household waste, or sweeping your building lobby and stairs.

Would you like to have access to the complete list of items that may be included in your rental charges? Consult the decree of August 26, 1987 on this link.

What's included in the rent: what charges are NOT included in my rent?

Now that you know what charges are included in your rent, another question arises. Are there any charges that are not included in the rent? The answer is yes.

These "non-recoverable" charges include insurance for your property, property tax and various building association fees. But they also include the replacement of faulty heating, pest control and cleaning up vandalism on the premises (graffiti, etc.).

Other costs not included in your rent (including charges) include video surveillance. But also the cost of bringing all mailboxes up to standard, if necessary, and the salary of your building's janitor.

Please note: as a tenant, you must also pay for your own water and electricity consumption, as well as your Internet access.

Rent including charges, water and electricity: the subject of calculating charges

But how are these famous service charges calculated? This is a question that most tenants don't know how to answer. It's quite simple: rental charges are based on the previous year's actual total consumption for the entire building. The sum obtained is then divided by twelve: for the 12 months of the year, of course.

If you're renting furnished accommodation, your landlord or agency must provide you with an exact figure. On the other hand, if your rental is empty, the amount of your monthly charges is an estimate. This is why, the following year, you can benefit from an adjustment of charges.

Rent including service charges for a single-family home: what about regularization?

How do you go about adjusting your service charges when you're a tenant? Rest assured: you don't have to do anything. It's up to your landlord or rental agency. Each year, they will carry out a balance sheet to verify the amounts actually spent in the building during the year.

Once the balance sheet has been drawn up, the lessor, whether a landlord or an agency, must send you a statement. This includes details of the sums actually paid. There are two possible scenarios here.

If you have paid more than you needed to in the past year, your landlord or agency must reimburse you the difference. If not, you'll have to pay more.

Do you have any doubts about the regularization of your rental charges? You can access invoices and other supporting documents at any time.

Rent including charges for furnished accommodation: why not choose Colonies?

If you're tired of the often complex procedures involved in renting a property, don't hesitate to take a look at the accommodation offers from Colonies. With us, everything is made as easy as possible, because we include all utilities in the rent: water, electricity, wifi, heating, cleaning of common areas and home insurance.

Find and apply for your future home in just a few steps!

→ Use our virtual tours to choose your home
→ Apply and sign your contract online
→ Pack your bags and move in stress-free

Find your home

Discover our homes in

France
Aix-en-provence
Bordeaux
Fontainebleau
Lille
Lyon
Marseille
Montpellier
Nantes
Paris
Toulouse
Rennes
Chartres
Angouleme
Clermont-ferrand
Belgium
Antwerp
Bruxelles
Germany
Berlin

Loyer charges comprises : que signifie au juste cette mention ?

Loyer charges comprises : que signifie au juste cette mention ?

Chez Colonies, notre but est simple : vous faciliter la vie. Ainsi, que vous optiez pour un logement via notre site ou ailleurs, nous aimons partager avec vous des conseils pour mieux naviguer dans ce domaine trop souvent complexe de l’immobilier. Aujourd’hui, voyons ce que signifie la fameuse mention « loyer charges comprises ».

C’est obligatoire depuis 2014, date de la mise en application de la « loi ALUR ». Désormais, les agences ou les bailleurs qui mettent un bien immobilier à la location doivent préciser le prix mensuel du loyer. A cela s’ajoute une estimation de la somme à laquelle s’élèvent les charges comprises dans le prix total de ce loyer.


Si vous vous mettez à la recherche d’une location, attendez-vous donc à faire régulièrement face à la mention « loyer charges comprises ». Concrètement, cette mention vous indique la somme complète que vous aurez à payer chaque mois. C’est le cas aussi bien pour les colocations que pour les logements individuels ; qu’il s’agisse d’appartement ou de maison.


Mais que regroupent exactement ces charges ? Entretien, électricité, redevance assainissement, charges privatives, régularisation des charges… Pas de panique, on vous dit tout dans les paragraphes suivants.


Location meublée avec charges comprises et électricité : quelles sont les charges comprises dans ma location ?

Quand vous lisez cette mention « loyer charges comprises » sur une annonce immobilière, vous faites face au prix mensuel du loyer, qui inclut ce qu’on appelle les « charges locatives ». Chaque mois, vous versez donc à votre propriétaire ou à votre agence des provisions sur charges.

Mais que comprennent ces charges, au juste ? Tout d’abord, les dépenses liées à la consommation énergétique du bâtiment où vous résidez. Nous parlons ici de l’eau, de l’électricité, du gaz et du chauffage.

Les charges locatives comprennent aussi les frais destinés à l’entretien des parties communes de votre immeuble. Ces frais incluent les réparations liées à tous les équipements communs comme l’ascenseur, les boîtes aux lettres, et ainsi de suite.

Enfin, les charges locatives incluent les taxes locatives qui concernent la prise en charge des ordures ménagères, ou encore le balayage de votre hall d’immeuble et de vos escaliers.

Vous désirez avoir accès à la liste complète des éléments pouvant être inclus dans vos charges locatives ? Consultez le décret du 26 août 1987 sur ce lien.

Que comprend le loyer charges comprises : quelles charges ne sont PAS prises en compte dans ma location ?

Maintenant que vous savez quelles charges sont comprises dans votre loyer, une autre question se pose. Y a-t-il des charges qui ne sont pas comprises dans ce loyer ? La réponse est oui.

Parmi ces charges locatives dites « non récupérables » se trouvent l’assurance de votre logement, la taxe foncière et les frais divers liés au syndicat de votre immeuble. Mais aussi le remplacement d’un chauffage défectueux, la dératisation, ou encore le nettoyage d’actes de vandalisme dans l’enceinte de votre immeuble (graffitis, etc).

Parmi les autres frais non pris en compte dans votre loyer charges comprises, les éventuelles dépenses liées à la vidéosurveillance. Mais aussi la mise aux normes, le cas échéant, de l’ensemble des boîtes aux lettres, ou encore le salaire du gardien de votre immeuble.

Attention : en tant que locataire, vous devez aussi payer votre propre consommation d’eau et d’électricité, ainsi que votre accès à Internet.

Loyer charges comprises, eau et électricité : le sujet du calcul des charges

Mais au fait, comment ces fameuses charges locatives sont-elles calculées ? Voici une question à laquelle la plupart des locataires ne savent pas répondre. C’est pourtant simple : les charges locatives sont basées sur la consommation réelle et totale de l’année précédente pour l’ensemble de l’immeuble. La somme obtenue est ensuite divisée par douze : pour les 12 mois de l’année, bien entendu.

Si le logement que vous louez est meublé, votre propriétaire ou votre agence doit vous fournir une somme exacte. Par contre, si votre location est vide, le montant de vos charges mensuelles est une estimation. Voilà pourquoi, l’année suivante, vous pourrez bénéficier d’une régularisation des charges.


Loyer charges comprises pour une maison individuelle : quid de la régularisation ?

Comment se passe la régularisation des charges quand on est locataire ? Rassurez-vous : vous n’avez rien à faire. C’est à votre propriétaire ou à votre agence de s’en occuper. Chaque année, ces derniers vont effectuer un bilan comptable, pour vérifier les sommes réellement dépensées dans l’immeuble au cours de l’année.

Une fois ce bilan effectué, les bailleurs, qu’il s’agisse d’un propriétaire ou d’une agence, doivent vous faire parvenir un décompte. Ce dernier inclut le détail des sommes payées en réalité. Ici, il existe deux cas de figure.

Si vous avez payé plus que nécessaire au cours de l’année écoulée, votre propriétaire ou votre agence doit vous rembourser la différence. Dans le cas contraire, c’est vous qui devez payer un supplément.

Vous avez un doute quant à la régularisation de vos charges locatives ? Sachez que vous pouvez accéder à tout moment aux factures et autres pièces justificatives du montant de ces charges.

Loyer charges comprises pour un meublé : et si vous optiez pour Colonies ?

Si vous êtes fatigué des démarches souvent complexes qu’exigent les locations immobilières, n’hésitez pas à découvrir les offres de logement proposées par Colonies. Chez nous, tout est facilité au maximum car nous intégrons toutes les charges dans le loyer : eau, électricité, wifi, chauffage, ménage des parties communes et assurance habitation.

Louez dès maintenant !
En colocation ou en coliving, trouvez votre futur logement sans stress et rapidement chez Colonies grâce à notre parcours entièrement en ligne !
Trouver mon logement

Prêt à
emménager ?

Trouver mon logement
Ils parlent de nous
Louez dès maintenant chez Colonies !
Trouver mon logement