Login
Colonies logo

Find your home

→ 100% digital booking

→ Fully furnished housing

→ Charges included in the rent

→ Mid & long-term rentals

XXL building

All of our products can be found within XXL buildings offering extra on-site facilities.

Discover our XXL buildings

Corporate offers

Looking to invest?

Log in or create an account to access our investment opportunities

View our opportunities

A platform to simplify our tenants’ stay

→ Arrival & departure instructions
→ Documents related to the stay
→ Rent payment & receipts
→ Housemates information
→ Help center

04/04/2024
All products
France

What to look for in an entry inventory?

The move-in inspection is a critical component of the rental process for rental agencies, landlords, and tenants in an ever-evolving rental market.

The demand for clarity and honesty at the beginning of a tenancy is arguably more critical than ever. To safeguard the interests of both tenants and landlords, a clear and precise move-in inspection should be at the forefront of every lease agreement. While most landlords are good and most tenants treat their rental properties with respect, rentals often end with a discussion about the condition and cleanliness of the property.

The key pieces of evidence for negotiations will be the move-in inspection and move-out inspection, simultaneously.

In this guide, we will explore why you need a move-in inspection for a new rental? Why is it important at different phases of the rental process? And how to ensure you have a comprehensive inventory in case you need it to support negotiation? We will also provide our best advice on how to protect both the landlord or agency and the tenant while managing each other's expectations during the tenancy. Our move-in inspection checklist will help ensure that in your move-in inspection, you haven't missed anything.

What is a move-in inspection?

The move-in inspection is a document that provides a clear and precise overview of the condition of a rental property at a specific point in time. When the move-in inspection is conducted before the tenant enters the premises, it's called a move-in inspection.

A comprehensive move-in inspection includes a precise list of the property's items and locations, a detailed description of the condition of each room and its fixtures, as well as the overall cleanliness level. Even if not included in the report, the move-in inspection should also contain high-quality, timestamped images.

It's essential to obtain the tenant's agreement on this move-in inspection, which can be done by visiting the property with the tenant during the inspection to ensure they agree with the documented move-in inspection.

This inspection highlights how the tenant lived in the house and took care of it, as well as any changes discovered during inspections and at the end of the tenancy, during the move-out inspection.

Why is a move-in inspection so important?

You wouldn't believe the amount of damage a tenant can cause! The list is long, whether it's stains on carpets, broken windows, burns on countertops, holes in walls, or damaged doors. If you don't have a move-in inspection, or if what you have isn't robust enough, you'll be at a disadvantage in any negotiation with your tenant after the tenancy expires.

At the end of the tenancy, a proper inventory can help you avoid a dispute. Remember that in the absence of an inventory, you have no evidence to negotiate, raising the question of the necessity of a security deposit, as it will be almost impossible to prove that the tenant caused the damage.

Inventory essentials - Top tips

This list is intended to remind landlords, agents, and tenants of the most critical elements to include in reports, all of which contribute to protecting both the landlord and tenant and managing each other's expectations throughout the tenancy. If you're having your reports done by a third party, make sure you get a quality report.

Don't forget to:

  • Create a list of all items and spaces in the property, indicating the condition of each and the overall cleanliness level. Tip: Cleanliness and condition are two different concepts, with normal wear and tear only concerning condition.

  • Include photographic and video evidence to support your textual description. This evidence should be labeled with the location it pertains to. Tip: Take photos of scuffs on walls and marks on carpets with the same perspectives and features, and use a measure (like a ruler or finger length) to demonstrate the size and scale of scuffs on walls and marks on carpets.

  • Date the reports and ensure the inspection time is clearly visible if it's just photographic or video reports. Note that this is particularly true for student apartments and complexes, where decor and content are uniform, and turnaround times can be very short. When describing something on move-in and move-out inspections, use the same wording. Tip: Descriptions can be brief but informative, such as three black stains on the carpet, multiple indentations on furniture, and general wear and tear. DO NOT rely on terms like "good," "bad," or "excellent," nor simply use check boxes.

  • Define all words or abbreviations used in the reports for consistency reasons. Tip: Consider assigning a number to each item for reference. When visiting a property or doing the final inspection, it'll be easier to cross-reference with an object or location.

  • Digitally date all photographs not integrated into the main report. If not, they should be individually passed to your tenant for initialing and dating. Tip: Ensure the date shown on your phone, device, or camera settings is correct.

  • Don't neglect the need for periodic property inspections. Tip: When it comes to fulfilling obligations and any related fees at the end of the tenancy, they can help form a clear picture of what happened during the tenancy.

  • Send all reports to the tenant, who should sign them to acknowledge receipt. However, in case of negotiation or arbitration, you'll need proof that the tenant received the move-in inspection report and had the opportunity to respond and make necessary changes. For example, when they received the keys, they may have used a timestamped email or declaration form. Tip: Ensure move-in inspection reports are done before the tenant moves in and move-out inspection reports are done after the tenant has vacated all belongings, with no long intervals between the two events.

A comprehensive move-in inspection, along with inspections throughout the tenancy and a thorough move-out inspection at the end of the tenancy, are essential for a successful rental process. It's also crucial to be able to compare reports from the beginning and end of a tenancy. A consistent reporting style and the use of appropriate descriptive wording will give all parties the best chance of agreeing on who is responsible for what at the time of the tenant's departure, thus avoiding the possibility of a legal dispute.

Colonies

The checklist provided here by Colonies aims to help landlords, rental agencies, and tenants avoid rental disputes by ensuring all aspects of your inventory report have been addressed.

Finally, it's always good to plan for the unexpected. Even with all checks and protocols in place, things can still go wrong. In such situations, taking out landlord insurance, which protects the landlord against financial losses related to renting out a property, provides the best protection.

It's also necessary to surround yourself with the best collaborators to assist you in the various stages of the rental process. And these collaborators are part of the Colonies team.

Find and apply for your future home in just a few steps!

→ Use our virtual tours to choose your home
→ Apply and sign your contract online
→ Pack your bags and move in stress-free

Find your home

Discover our homes in

France
Aix-en-provence
Bordeaux
Fontainebleau
Lille
Lyon
Marseille
Montpellier
Nantes
Paris
Toulouse
Rennes
Chartres
Angouleme
Clermont-ferrand
Belgium
Antwerp
Bruxelles
Germany
Berlin

Que vérifier dans un état des lieux d’entrée ?

Que vérifier dans un état des lieux d’entrée ?

L’état des lieux d’entrée est un élément important du processus de location pour les agences de location, les propriétaires et les locataires dans un marché de la location en constante évolution.

L'exigence de clarté et d'honnêteté au début d'une location est probablement plus critique que jamais. Afin de protéger les intérêts des locataires et des propriétaires, un état des lieux clair et précis devrait figurer au premier plan de chaque bail. Bien que la majorité des propriétaires soient bons et que la plupart des locataires traitent leurs biens locatifs avec respect, les locations se terminent souvent par une discussion sur l'état et la propreté de la propriété.

Les principaux éléments de preuve pour les négociations seront l'état des lieux d’entrée et état des lieux de sortie, en même temps.

Dans ce guide, nous verrons pourquoi vous avez besoin d'un état des lieux d’entrée de logement neuf ? Pourquoi est-il important à différentes phases du processus de location ? Et comment vous assurer d'avoir un inventaire complet au cas où vous en auriez besoin pour soutenir la négociation ? Nous vous donnerons également nos meilleurs conseils sur la manière de protéger à la fois le propriétaire ou l'agence et le locataire tout en gérant les attentes de chacun pendant la location. Notre check liste état des lieux d'entrée vous permettra de vous assurer que dans votre état des lieux, vous n’avez rien oublié.

Qu'est-ce qu'un état des lieux d’entrée ?

L’état des lieux est un document qui permet d’avoir une vision claire et précise de la situation d’un bien locatif à un moment précis de location. Lorsque l’état des lieux est effectué avant l’entrée du locataire dans les locaux, on parle d’état des lieux d’entrée.

Un état des lieux d'entrée complet comprend une liste précise des biens et des emplacements du bien, une description détaillée de l'état de chaque pièce et de ses accessoires, ainsi que le niveau de propreté général. Même si cela n'est pas inclus dans le rapport, l’état des lieux d'entrée devrait également contenir des images d'excellente qualité et horodatées.

Il est essentiel d'obtenir l'accord du locataire sur cet état des lieux, ce qui peut être fait en visitant la propriété avec le locataire lors de l'état des lieux pour s'assurer qu'il est d'accord avec l'état des lieux documenté.

Cet état permet de mettre en évidence la façon dont le locataire a vécu dans la maison et en a pris soin, ainsi que toute modification découverte lors des inspections et à la fin de la location, lors de l’état des lieux de sortie.

Pourquoi un état des lieux d’entrée est-il si important ?

Vous ne croiriez pas la quantité de dommages qu'un locataire peut causer ! La liste est longue, qu'il s'agisse de taches sur les tapis, de vitres brisées, de brûlures sur les plans de travail, de trous dans les murs ou de portes endommagées. Si vous n'avez pas d’état des lieux d'entrée, ou si ce que vous avez n'est pas assez solide, vous serez désavantagé dans toute négociation avec votre locataire après l'expiration de la location.

À la fin de la location, un inventaire en bonne et due forme peut vous aider à éviter une dispute. N'oubliez pas qu'en l'absence d'inventaire, vous ne disposez d'aucune preuve pour négocier, ce qui soulève la question de la nécessité d'un dépôt de garantie, car il sera presque difficile de prouver que le locataire a causé les dommages.

L'essentiel de l'inventaire - les meilleurs conseils

Cette liste est destinée à rappeler aux propriétaires, aux agents et aux locataires, les éléments les plus importants à inclure dans les rapports, qui contribuent tous, à protéger à la fois le propriétaire et le locataire et à gérer les attentes de chacun tout au long de la location. Si vous faites faire vos rapports par un tiers, assurez-vous d'obtenir un rapport de qualité.

N'oubliez pas de :

  • Dresser une liste de tous les objets et espaces de la propriété, en indiquant l'état de chacun et le niveau de propreté général. Conseil : la propreté et l'état sont deux concepts différents, l'usure normale ne concernant que l'état.
  • Inclure des preuves photographiques et vidéo pour étayer votre description textuelle. Ces preuves doivent être étiquetées avec l'emplacement auquel elles se rapportent. Conseil : Prenez des photos des éraflures sur les murs et des marques sur les tapis avec les mêmes perspectives et caractéristiques, et utilisez une mesure (comme une règle ou la longueur d'un doigt) pour démontrer la taille et le rapport des éraflures sur les murs et des marques sur les tapis.
  • Dater les états et vérifier que l'heure de l'inspection est bien visible s'il s'agit de simples rapports photographiques ou vidéo. Notez que cela est particulièrement vrai pour les appartements et complexes étudiants, où le décor et le contenu sont uniformes et où les délais d'exécution peuvent être très courts. Lorsque vous décrivez quelque chose sur les états des lieux et de sortie, utilisez la même formulation. Conseil : les descriptions peuvent être brèves mais informatives, telles que trois taches noires sur la moquette, de multiples indentations sur les meubles et une usure générale. NE PAS dépendre des termes "bon", "mauvais" ou "excellent", ni utiliser simplement des cases à cocher.
  • Définir tous les mots ou abréviations utilisés dans les publications pour des raisons de cohérence. Conseil : envisagez d'attribuer un numéro à chaque objet à titre de référence. Lors de la visite d'une propriété ou de l'inspection finale, il sera ainsi plus facile de faire des références croisées avec un objet ou un emplacement.
  • Dater numériquement toutes les photographies qui ne sont pas intégrées dans le rapport principal. Si ce n'est pas le cas, elles doivent être transmises individuellement à votre locataire pour être paraphées et datées. Conseil : vérifiez que la date indiquée sur votre téléphone, votre appareil ou les paramètres de l'appareil photo est correcte.
  • Ne pas négliger la nécessité de procéder à des inspections périodiques de la propriété. Conseil : lorsqu'il s'agit de s'acquitter des obligations et de tous les frais connexes à la fin de la location, ils peuvent aider à se faire une idée claire de ce qui s'est passé pendant la location. 
  • Envoyer tous les rapports au locataire, qui devrait les signer pour en accuser réception. En cas de négociation ou d'arbitrage, cependant, vous aurez besoin de la preuve que le locataire a reçu le rapport d'état des lieux et qu'il a eu l'occasion de répondre et d'apporter les changements nécessaires. Par exemple, lorsqu'il a pris les clés, il peut avoir utilisé un courriel horodaté ou un formulaire de déclaration. Conseil : assurez-vous que les rapports d'état des lieux d'entrée sont établis avant que le locataire n'emménage et que les rapports d'état des lieux de sortie soient établis après que le locataire a évacué tous ses biens, sans qu'il y ait de longs intervalles entre les deux événements.

Un état des lieux d'entrée complet, ainsi que des inspections tout au long de la location et un état des lieux de sortie complet à la fin de la location, sont essentielles pour un processus de location réussi. Il est également crucial de pouvoir comparer les rapports du début et de la fin d'une location. Un style de rapport cohérent et l'utilisation d'une formulation descriptive appropriée donneront à toutes les parties les meilleures chances de se mettre d'accord sur qui est responsable de quoi au moment du départ du locataire, évitant ainsi la possibilité d'un litige juridique.

Colonies

La liste de contrôle que vous fournit ici Colonies a pour but d'aider les propriétaires, les agences de location et les locataires à éviter les litiges en matière de location en s'assurant que tous les aspects de votre rapport d'inventaire ont été traités.

Enfin, il est toujours bon de prévoir l'imprévu. Même avec tous les contrôles et protocoles en place, les choses peuvent toujours mal tourner. Dans de telles situations, la souscription d'une assurance propriétaire, qui protège le propriétaire contre les pertes financières liées à la location d'un bien immobilier, constitue la meilleure protection.

Il est également nécessaire de vous entourer des meilleurs collaborateurs pour vous aider dans les différentes étapes du processus de location. Et ces collaborateurs font partie de l’équipe de Colonies.

Louez dès maintenant !
En colocation ou en coliving, trouvez votre futur logement sans stress et rapidement chez Colonies grâce à notre parcours entièrement en ligne !
Trouver mon logement

Prêt à
emménager ?

Trouver mon logement
Ils parlent de nous
Louez dès maintenant chez Colonies !
Trouver mon logement