Login
Colonies logo

Find your home

→ 100% digital booking

→ Fully furnished housing

→ Charges included in the rent

→ Mid & long-term rentals

XXL building

All of our products can be found within XXL buildings offering extra on-site facilities.

Discover our XXL buildings

Corporate offers

Looking to invest?

Log in or create an account to access our investment opportunities

View our opportunities

A platform to simplify our tenants’ stay

→ Arrival & departure instructions
→ Documents related to the stay
→ Rent payment & receipts
→ Housemates information
→ Help center

04/04/2024
All products
France

Does the lease renew automatically? What are the conditions?

When you're a tenant, your situation is governed by a lease, which is a contract regulated by French law. This allows you to inhabit a dwelling or occupy a building in exchange for monthly remuneration. However, there are several types of leases, the main ones being residential leases, commercial leases, and professional leases. In the case of a residential lease, the duration is usually 3 years. When you reach the end of this contract, several options are available to you depending on the terms agreed upon initially.

You may be wondering, "Does the lease renew automatically?" It all depends on the nature of the property you are renting and the legal framework within which the lease falls. The subject may seem very complicated, which is why the Colonies team will explain everything to you point by point. Generally, if at the end of the contract neither the landlord nor the tenant takes any steps, the lease is automatically renewed. Furthermore, it is free, with no additional fees to pay.

The typical scenario: renting an unfurnished apartment

The majority of leases concern unfurnished rentals, occupied by one or more tenants for a specified duration of 3 years. In certain well-defined cases, it is possible for a landlord to offer a shorter duration, provided it is at least one year, and if the landlord's personal or professional situation justifies this approach (such as imminent retirement). Most of the time, the renewal is based on the terms of the original contract, and a new signature is not required. If you want to clarify this renewal, the landlord's request must be made 6 months before the end of the term, or from the tenant's side, 1 to 3 months before.

The landlord can terminate the lease only for three justifications:

  • in case of sale of the property

  • intention to inhabit the property

  • serious reason: default in payment or negligence on the part of the tenant

The furnished rental lease: what duration, what renewal terms?

Compared to an unfurnished apartment, a furnished rental has a shorter contract duration, according to the terms of the law of July 6, 1989, revised by more recent regulations such as the Alur Law of 2014. Here again, there are several types of leases, including seasonal and student leases, which are two major types of furnished rentals in France. As for standard furnished accommodations, the lease is for a duration of one year and can be tacitly renewed.

The student lease concerns many young people in France and has its own terms. It has a fixed duration of 9 months and is not renewable. In return, a young student tenant may receive special assistance from the State, such as the APL (personalized housing assistance) or the ALS (social housing allowance).

As for the seasonal lease, the occupancy of the accommodation is even more limited in time, usually to 90 days. This duration can be extended up to 120 days per year at most, or 4 months, if the accommodation is located in a large municipality of more than 200,000 inhabitants, or more than 50,000 in a high-demand area (with a high demand compared to the real estate supply).

Do you need to sign a new contract in case of tacit renewal of the lease?

Quite often, the possibility of renewal relies on an unofficial agreement between you and the property owner. This is referred to as tacit renewal, which means that the renewal is not explicitly contained in the lease agreement. Tacit renewal consists of the end of one lease and the creation of a new contract, either on the same terms or with modifications. In any case, you will need to negotiate with the landlord unless the landlord decides on their own to proceed with the renewal.

The relationship with the landlord can be difficult in some cases, but they must absolutely send you a registered letter to officially terminate the lease. In the event that the property is sold by the landlord, they must send you a notice to inform you that the lease will not be renewed. The notice must be sent to you 3 months before the deadline if it is a furnished rental or 6 months for an "unfurnished" one. If you are retained as a tenant, the lease agreement is automatically transferred to the new owner of the property.

Renewal of commercial/professional leases: how does it work?

Another type of French lease contract concerns businesses and liberal professions (architects, doctors, lawyers, etc.).

The commercial lease does not automatically expire at the end of the specified duration in the initially signed contract, which is at least 9 years. The professional must request renewal 6 months before the expiration. The commercial lease is often advantageous for the business owner, and the landlord's refusal to renew almost always results in compensation to be paid. Unless otherwise explicitly stated in the initial contract, there are very few scenarios where the landlord can refuse to renew the lease.

As for the professional lease, it has a duration of at least 6 years but does not renew automatically. An agreement between both parties, landlord and tenant, is required for renewal, unless the landlord initiates legal proceedings against their client for a valid reason. However, the renewal is based on the same terms as the initial agreement.

Lease renewal and rent increase: is it automatic?

When a lease ends and is renewed, the landlord of the property may choose to increase the rent for their tenants, within certain limits. For this, they will rely on the base of the rental reference index (IRL), published by INSEE quarterly or on a rolling 12-month basis. Such an increase can only occur if the rent was underestimated compared to the geographic area and within the legal limits set by the percentage increase in the IRL. Do not worry, the law allows you to protect yourself against an abusive rent increase: you can indeed contact the town hall, draw up a report on unsanitary housing, and put your landlord on notice in case of failure to fulfill their duties.

Find and apply for your future home in just a few steps!

→ Use our virtual tours to choose your home
→ Apply and sign your contract online
→ Pack your bags and move in stress-free

Find your home

Discover our homes in

France
Aix-en-provence
Bordeaux
Fontainebleau
Lille
Lyon
Marseille
Montpellier
Nantes
Paris
Toulouse
Rennes
Chartres
Angouleme
Clermont-ferrand
Belgium
Antwerp
Bruxelles
Germany
Berlin

Est-ce que le bail se renouvelle automatiquement ? Quelles sont les conditions ?

Est-ce que le bail se renouvelle automatiquement ? Quelles sont les conditions ?

Lorsque vous êtes locataire, votre situation est relative à un bail, c'est-à-dire un contrat encadré par le droit français. Cela vous permet d'habiter un logement ou d'occuper un bâtiment contre une rémunération mensuelle. Il existe cependant plusieurs types de baux, les principaux étant le bail d'habitation, le bail commercial et le bail professionnel. Lorsqu'il s'agit d'un bail d'habitation, la durée est généralement de 3 ans. Quand vous arrivez au terme de ce contrat, plusieurs options se présentent à vous selon les termes conclus au départ.

Vous vous demandez peut-être : "est-ce que le bail se renouvelle automatiquement ?" Tout dépend de la nature du bien que vous louez, et du cadre légal dans lequel s'inscrit le bail en question. Le sujet peut paraître très compliqué, c'est pourquoi l'équipe de Colonies va tout vous expliquer point par point. En règle générale, si au terme du contrat, ni le propriétaire ni le locataire n'engagent de démarches, le bail de location est reconduit de fait. De plus, il s'avère gratuit, sans aucun frais supplémentaire à payer.

La situation classique : la location en logement vide

La majeure partie des baux concernent des locations non meublées, occupées par un ou plusieurs locataires sur une durée déterminée de 3 ans. Dans certains cas bien définis, il est possible pour un bailleur de proposer une durée inférieure, pourvu qu'elle soit d'au moins un an, et si la situation personnelle ou professionnelle du propriétaire justifie cette démarche (retraite prochaine notamment). La plupart du temps, la reconduction se fait sur les bases du contrat initial, et une nouvelle signature n'est pas exigée. Si vous désirez clarifier cette reconduction, la demande côté propriétaire doit être formulée 6 mois avant la date de fin d'échéance, ou côté locataire, 1 à 3 mois avant.

Le propriétaire ne peut mettre lui-même fin au bail que selon trois justifications :

  • en cas de vente du logement
  • volonté d'habiter le logement
  • motif sérieux : défaut de paiement ou négligences de la part du locataire

Le bail de location meublée : quelle durée, quelles modalités de reconduction ?

Par rapport à un logement vide, une location meublée présente une durée de contrat réduite, selon les termes de la loi du 6 juillet 1989, révisés par des dispositifs plus récents, comme la Loi Alur de 2014. Là encore, on retrouve plusieurs baux, notamment saisonniers et étudiants, qui constituent deux grands types de location meublée en France. Pour ce qui est des logements meublés classiques, le bail est d'une durée d'un an et reconductible de manière tacite.

Le bail étudiant concerne de nombreux jeunes en France et présente ses propres modalités. Il est d'une durée fixe de 9 mois, et non reconductible. En contrepartie, un jeune locataire étudiant peut percevoir des aides spéciales de l’État, comme l'APL (aide personnalisée au logement) ou l'ALS (allocation de logement à caractère social).

En ce qui concerne le bail saisonnier, l'occupation du logement est encore plus limitée dans le temps, à 90 jours le plus souvent. Cette durée peut être augmentée jusqu'à 120 jours par an au plus, soit 4 mois, si le logement se situe dans une grande commune de plus de 200 000 habitants, ou de plus de 50 000 en zone tendue (avec forte demande par rapport à l'offre immobilière).

A-t-on besoin de signer un nouveau contrat en cas de tacite reconduction du bail ?

Assez souvent, la possibilité d'un renouvellement repose sur un accord non officiel entre vous et le propriétaire du logement. On parle alors de renouvellement tacite, ce qui signifie que la reconduction n'est pas explicitement contenue dans le contrat de bail. Le renouvellement tacite consiste en la fin d'un bail et la création d'un nouveau contrat, soit sur les mêmes termes, soit avec des modifications. Vous aurez de toute façon à négocier avec le propriétaire, à moins que celui-ci ne décide par lui-même de procéder à la reconduction.

La relation avec le propriétaire peut s'avérer difficile dans certains cas, mais il doit absolument vous envoyer une lettre recommandée pour mettre fin de manière officielle au bail. Dans le cas où le logement viendrait à être vendu par le propriétaire, ce dernier doit vous envoyer un préavis pour vous signifier que le bail ne sera pas renouvelé. Le préavis doit vous être envoyé 3 mois avant échéance s'il s'agit d'une location meublée ou 6 mois pour un logement "vide". Si vous êtes conservé.e en tant que locataire, le contrat de location est envoyé automatiquement au nouveau propriétaire du bien immobilier.

Le renouvellement des baux commerciaux/professionnels : comment fonctionne-t-il ?

Autre type de location français, le contrat de bail qui concerne les entreprises à but lucratif ainsi que les professions libérales (architectes, médecins, avocats...).

Le bail commercial n'expire pas automatiquement à la fin de la durée prévue dans le contrat initialement signé, soit 9 ans au minimum. Le professionnel doit demander la reconduction 6 mois avant échéance. Le bail commercial est souvent à l'avantage du chef d'entreprise, et le refus de renouvellement de la part du bailleur entraîne presque toujours des indemnités à verser. Sauf indications contraires explicitement présentes dans le contrat initial, il n'existe que très peu de cas de figure où le propriétaire peut refuser de reconduire le bail.

Pour le bail professionnel, celui-ci est d'une durée de 6 ans au moins, mais ne se renouvelle pas automatiquement. Il faut pour cela un accord entre les deux parties, propriétaire et locataire, sauf si le bailleur engage une procédure contre son client pour un motif valable. Néanmoins, la reprise s'effectue sur les mêmes bases que l'accord initial.

Reconduction de bail et augmentation des loyers : est-ce automatique ?

Lorsqu'un bail prend fin et qu'il est reconduit, le propriétaire du logement peut choisir d'augmenter le loyer de ses locataires, dans certaines mesures. Pour cela, il s'appuiera sur la base de l'indice de référence des loyers (ou IRL), publié par l'INSEE de manière trimestrielle ou sur 12 mois tournants. Une telle augmentation ne peut s'effectuer que si le loyer avait été sous-estimé par rapport à la zone géographique, et dans des limites légales fixées par le pourcentage d'augmentation de l'IRL. Ne vous inquiétez pas, la Loi vous permet de vous protéger contre une augmentation abusive du loyer : vous pouvez en effet saisir la mairie, dresser un constat de logement insalubre et mettre en demeure votre propriétaire en cas de manquement à ses devoirs.

Louez dès maintenant !
En colocation ou en coliving, trouvez votre futur logement sans stress et rapidement chez Colonies grâce à notre parcours entièrement en ligne !
Trouver mon logement

Prêt à
emménager ?

Trouver mon logement
Ils parlent de nous
Louez dès maintenant chez Colonies !
Trouver mon logement